Board Member Highlight: Amy Schornick, Chair, ADA Community Leadership Board

Amy Schornick A (Low Res)

Amy Schornick, 2014 Community Leadership Board Chair,  began her involvement with the American Diabetes Association about five years ago. During her tenure as a board member, she has served as chair of the Step Out: Walk to Stop Diabetes Committee and has attended many events and programs, opened doors to new partnerships, and has recruited board members and volunteers. Here is a little more about her and her involvement with the ADA.

 

How long have you lived in Dallas?

I was born at Presbyterian Dallas and grew up in Richardson/Plano. I moved to Austin where I went to college at Southwestern University in Georgetown. I moved back to Dallas 25 years ago.

 

What does your job entail? Title?

Vice President Payor Relations and Contracting. I am responsible for managing contracted relationships with various payors that drive 60 percent of THRs net revenue.

 

How many children?

I have three daughters.  Jordan 32, Madeline 16, Taylor 14, grandchild 1.

 

Why do you volunteer for the ADA?

Five years ago my dear friend Dana McCormick introduced me to the work the ADA was doing in our community. I wanted to be a part of it. My husband is a type 2 diabetic; he’s had significant health issues as a result.  And my father is type 2 and my step-mother type 2 as well.

 

What is your favorite fundraising event hosted by the ADA? Why?

Step Out is my favorite because I’ve had the opportunity to chair the event and work with a phenomenal team. The reason I like the event is because it promotes diabetes awareness, raises funds for our local programs, promotes exercise and educates the community about diabetes.

 

How do you feel you have effected the most change as Chair?

This year our biggest challenge and opportunity was to revamp the activities and roles of our board members and to bring some clear focus and direction to maximize the influence in the community to benefit ADA.

 

What would you like to see happen in the next five years as far as reaching goals and setting strategies for the ADA?

With the growing importance of organizations like the ADA, my company, THR, and other non-profits in North Texas addressing community  health, I would like to see more community- wide partnership like the one we have with the ADA. We need to bind everyone together to effect change on a grander scale and in a community wide effort.

 

Where do you see yourself in 5 years?

I would like to continue to contribute in bigger ways to the North Texas community on improving health and making health care affordable for our citizens.

 

If your life was a movie, which actor would you want to play you in the leading role?

Sandra Bullock and my younger said Jennifer Aniston. Sandra my girls say she creates the coolest characters. She’s got a lot of fire in her belly yet she’s approachable.

 

Leave a Reply

