Honoring Our Superheroes!

Honoring Our Superheroes! ADA, DFW Chapter Annual Awards Meeting

The American Diabetes Association, DFW Chapter held its Annual Awards meeting on December 9, 2015 at Brookhaven Country Club. The Chapter recognized its “superheroes” who led the ADA community programs and fundraising in 2015. Volunteers of the year were recognized for each activity and event conducted by the ADA in 2015:

*         Step Out: Chris Hensley

*         Stars of Texas: Michael Lopez

*         School Walk: Robert Restuccia

*         Tour de Cure: John Piper, Celanese

*         Senior Signature Series: Dalia Ibarra

*         Live Empowered: Darrell Druery

*         Camp Aurora: Brenda Sonnier

*         Camp New Horizons North: Allen Culpepper

*         New Horizons South: Shawn Holmes

*         Hispanic Initiatives: Zela Daniel

*         World Diabetes Day:  Wendy Windham

*         Speakers Bureau: Janet Sigler

*         Advocacy: Derek Lewis II


The top corporate award for 2015 went to Trinity Industries for their support of the Tour de Cure cycling event. Tom Jardine, Team Captain for Trinity Industries, accepted the award. The Leadership Board Volunteer of the Year went to Jerry Mayer of McCarthy Building Companies for his leadership with Step Out to Stop Diabetes Walk and his overall support and participation in 2015.

Many thanks to all those volunteers recognized and to those who attended the event!

Awards Night - Project Power Volunteers- web

Project Power Volunteers – Reverend Anthony Holmes, Shenekqual Robertson, Shunnique Fletcher, Sharon Claflin and Kenneth Holmes

Awards Night- Cindy Parsons and Cathy Orwig -web jpg

Cindy Parsons and Cathy Orwig from Keller ISD enjoying the evening.

Awards Night- Vols of Year- web

Volunteers of the Year accept their awards – Janet Siglar, Wendy Windham, Shawn Holmes, Januari Lewis, Pharm.D., Allen Culpepper, Sharon Claflin, John Piper, Leonor Marquez, Rob Restuccia

Awards Night- Top Corporate Sponsors-web

Top Corporate Sponsors – Quin Neal, ADA; Januari Lewis, Pharm.D., Walgreens; Tom Jardine, Trinity Industries; Amy Schornick, Texas Health Resources; Cari Young, Sam’s Club; Jim Wilson, Lockheed Martin; Catherine Oliveros, Blue Cross/Blue Shield of Texas; Cindy Parsons, Keller ISD; J.D. Kennedy, Ed.D. – Incoming Chair

Awards Night- Leonor Marquez- Podium

Leonor Marquez – Chair

Awards NIght- Tom Zavasky, Roxann and Joan Colgin - web

Tom Zavasky, Roxann Pishnick, ADA and Joan Colgin enjoying the evening.

Awards Night- Tom Jardine and Quin- web

Tom Jardine of Trinity Industries accepting Top Corporate Award with Quin Neal, Area Executive Director

Awards Night- Januari Lewis, Pharm.D.

Januari Lewis, Pharm.D. – Incoming President

Awards Night- JD Kennedy, Ed.D- web.

JD Kennedy, Ed.D – Incoming Chair


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s