25 Legends: Eric James

 

Screen Shot 2016-06-28 at 9.32.45 PM

The “25 Legends” blog series highlights personal stories from some of the Association’s most dedicated walkers and riders who are affected by the disease.

My name is Eric James and I reside in Columbia, South Carolina. I have now lived with type 1 diabetes for nearly thirty years. My personal connection to diabetes, however, stems from long before I was diagnosed.

In 1973, my older brother, Bobby James, was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes at 6 years old (I was only 3). Diabetes management was substantially different back then—he used urine strips to measure his blood glucose levels. Despite the rudimentary tools available to my brother, he seemed to handle his diabetes well and also managed to become the best big brother.

Read more here…

http://diabetesstopshere.org/2016/06/28/25-legends-eric-james/

Thank you for your commitment to the Stop Diabetes® movement.

Leave a Reply

